Reflections for the New Year

Hello everyone! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I haven’t posted anything for a few months, so I’m excited to be making my first blog post of 2017! I’m planning to be making blog posts more often now, since I think that a little bit of creative writing every now and then allows for me to refresh and refocus my mind, and I could definitely use that once and a while.

In GHEnglish we’ve been talking about the idea of Carpe Diem extensively and we’ve been writing a lot about it (I’m going to be posting my essay about carpe diem in a week or two) and it keeps me constantly thinking and generating new ideas. I think that some of my best ideas come all at once, especially when I’m procrastinating actually doing my english work or can’t go to sleep, which is how the idea for this post came to be. It’s just a jumble of ideas, but if it can make people think, then I think I did something right with this posatirical-art-pawel-kuczynski-6st.

As students, we carry the weight of the world in multicolored canvas sacs on our backs. We
carry the future of the world. Every year, that idea becomes a bit more real to use as the load we carry becomes increasingly heavier. The bag weighs us down, slowly breaking our vigor and preparing us for the humdrum life of submission that is adulthood and jobs and taxes. Our backs become bent, and the once cheerful child is now a hunched teen, too wise for her years and too smart for her own good. The structure of school and corporate america work to break us down to ensure that our backs become so hunched and our heads are so downturned that we have no choice but to look right in front of us and follow the path that we’re given to follow. If the school is xpluyfvsuccessful, we will never be able to lift our heads enough to explore the world around us and be able to deviate from the beaten path. This is how the structure controls us, this is how the cubicle worker is mass produced by society. If a child is too creative and has too many ideas, the structure will just force them into the same mold as everyone else, with no regard for the potential this child may have to change the world. People who rely on structure to make the world a less scary place for themselves will never live a full life because they relied on something else to keep them from failing, but sometimes people need to fail to be able to live and grow, and sometimes structures need to fall.

 

2 thoughts on “Reflections for the New Year

  1. Garreth Heidt says:

    Well, of course you know this hits me right where I live. And I can certainly see how this would come out of the work on Carpe Diem…as long and drawn out as it’s been. I do think there’s a happy medium somewhere, but that it’s so small that we tend to just trudge along with the structure, because it’s easier to just do as we’re told, or we strike out differently and forge our own futures. There are many successful people who manage to marry both, and I think that’s the sweet spot we should all aim for, but it’s so hard. Even America itself has such troubles, moving from black to white (and I mean that in every way it can be taken) without ever finding a happy medium.

    But that’s a tangent. You use the word “vigor” in your text, and I want to thank you for that. In education (and you probably don’t know this) the word “rigor” has become a buzz word. “We need to be more rigorous in our expectations and our demands for work.” Some teachers think this means more work and more work and less play and creativity. That’s BS. It’s no coincidence that the root “Rigor” is also the root in “rigormortise,” the rigidity that takes over the human body after death. Hell, my middle son, Rowan, has two teachers (he is in 5th grade) who, during Meet the Teacher Night, used the word Rigor no less than 20 times in a 15 minute presentation. And now he comes home and hates homework and hates school (though we are doing a cool “dry ice” project for the science fair). Thanks to “rigor.”

    I bring this up because I once read an article that classrooms should be more about “vigor” and less about “rigor.” I have strived to meet such a goal, but it was easier in Middle School. High School has so many expectations and demands and tests. Sheesh! Anyway, you might enjoy reading the article, and thank you for informing me of you blog post. It refreshes me to know students “get this.”

    http://www.joebower.org/2010/01/rigor-vsvigor.html (The unfortunate thing is this teacher/author died last year suddenly. We need more teachers like him.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

